InsuBOREDinate: Prisoner of the Papyrus Dungeon

Five years they’ve kept me here; weak, hungry, lagging behind in my daily work (if that’s what they insist on calling it), foul of mood and mind, itching for forbidden ways to pass the time. If I was free, none of those ways would be restricted from my use… If only I was free from this.

My hands wear signs of daily torture though you might not see them; miniscule as they are. The tiny cuts burn like a million tiny fires of hell as I squeeze the lemons in his tea each morning with a smile that belies my desperation to escape.

“See me tomorrow so we can take care of this mess”

His arm waves across this Chamber of Confusion to illuminate the towering mountains of precariously balanced piles of files and miscellaneous mess. I cringe as those tiny razors, seemingly embedded on every, single edge, seem to laugh at me with their copy-bright perfection and their scathing black lines of smirking text.

Beelzeboss is deceiving with his polite demeanor. “Oh, I don’t mind!”, he attempts to assure me when I put cinnamon in the coffee brewed for the annual roundtable.

For the past five years, I’ve known his “mind”.

For the past five years, they’ve succeeded in securing my internal insignificance while allowing his comrades and associates to believe my presence here matters. The joke’s on me…

Beelzeboss has allowed his highest level underling to make me her plaything. I am a fashionably dressed toy to trifle with as I am alternately made a slave to her game and put back on the shelf and ignored. Left to fester in intellectual agony and stagnate; the very fibers of my creativity screaming in protest.

Beelzebitch can be the cruelest of mistresses. Takes one under her wing and then kicks you out of the nest; all while almost making you believe its for your own good

Out of the den of scum and villany

Out of the den of scum and villany

About LVital7019

Just your normal, everyday 9-5er. An uninspiring position in an inspirational non-profit moves me to constant goof-offery; aimless, on-the-job procrastination; a crankiness that borders on psychosis; and attempting to craft something meaningful with words. Just another so-called-job inspiring someone to feats of insanity with a hint of creativity... (Insert demonic laugh HERE.) View all posts by LVital7019

4 responses to “InsuBOREDinate: Prisoner of the Papyrus Dungeon

  • El Guapo

    Gee, I’ve had that same boss!

    Like

  • Tony Single

    God. By the sounds of it, I’ve had supervisors that were similar. I’m so glad that I eventually well and truly got away from them (though at some cost to me). It looks like I’m going to be nodding my head in sad recognition of the kinds of things you’re going through in your job. A lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • LVital7019

      Beelzebitch got “demoted” so I’m not under her thumb so much anymore; even though she takes the occasional opportunity to be a random nut-job. What’s ironic is that the A.E.D. (“Beelzeboss” in this post) is a really nice guy – I was just so angry at times that I’d project all my anger at HER onto HIM. He was kind of guilty for letting that psycho get away with her whack-job behavior for almost 14 years, though so I don’t feel THAT badly!

      Like

      • Tony Single

        Thank god the dynamics eventually changed then. I mean, how much more of that could you have taken, am I right? I tell you, it never fails to amaze me how many people get into job positions they really shouldn’t have.

        Liked by 1 person

Use your words...

Tony Single

artist. wastrel. a quantum of potential.

The Greenwich Village Literary Review

A magazine by writers who love to write for readers who love to read.

The Winter Bites My Bones

The Collected Poems of Dennis McHale: 1981-2016

