A Little Less Conversation…

So in this professional journey of never-ending frustration, I’ve realized that it’s not entirely my fault that I cannot get shit done around here.  It seems like every time someone else’s input is required to complete something, like keeping current on my share of the water bill or getting an answer about a notice from OMH, I seem to always arrive in the middle of some tedious, long-winded personal conversation.  Because we have nothing better to do at work, apparently.

Today it was no less than ten minutes waiting for the Accounting Manager while Edita bla-bla-bla’d her little heart out about the pain in her legs from either stretching too much or not stretching enough (or walking too far or playing with dogs or feeding the fracking BIRDS) while Mr. Manager regaled us with his recent mysterious problem with an Achilles tendon.

They both lost me at “pain”…

I tried a few things to help them speed it the FUCK up; like, grabbing a handful of Jordan almonds the boss brought in on Monday to crunch in the doorway while I waited.  All I got was a quick look from Edita and then she continued talking.  Then, I went to wash my mug and made myself a cup of tea.  When I peeked back in, she was still going.  THEN, I went BACK to the kitchen and washed out my shaker-thermos so I’d have water to drink when I finally went back upstairs.  She was… STILL.  FUCKING. GOING….

She must have heard the gates of hell opening beneath my feet, which is probably also the sound it makes when I roll my eyes so hard I accidentally invoke the evil UP from below, because she finally asked if I needed something quick or not.

If I need something “quick”!??  YES, it’s quick! But it would be nice if you finished the fuck up and got the fuck out already since I’m pretty sure come Wednesday you’ll be whining about how much work you have before the next check-run.  Unbelievable.

Maybe it’s just me – maybe I lack the people skills to deal with such mundane, innocent things as excessive wasting of time on personal conversations that have NOTHING (even remotely) TO DO with work??  Maybe it’s my diminishing sense of purpose and motivation to complete tasks inspired by other recent events that annoy the FUCK out of me which affects my “social abilities” .

Strangely enough, I don’t seem to have such problems outside the office… :/

About LVital7019

Just your normal, everyday 9-5er. An uninspiring position in an inspirational non-profit moves me to constant goof-offery; aimless, on-the-job procrastination; a crankiness that borders on psychosis; and attempting to craft something meaningful with words. Just another so-called-job inspiring someone to feats of insanity with a hint of creativity... (Insert demonic laugh HERE.) View all posts by LVital7019

7 responses to “A Little Less Conversation…

Use your words...

Tony Single

artist. wastrel. a quantum of potential.

The Greenwich Village Literary Review

A magazine by writers who love to write for readers who love to read.

The Winter Bites My Bones

The Collected Poems of Dennis McHale: 1981-2016

